Empowering Change

Human empowerment is one way we inspire ourselves to make dreams come true. Empowerment is the force that can encourage self-confidence, which in turn fills us with determination to make change happen. To assure positive change, we go through several stages. These phases involve breaking away from safe, familiar comforts and forging new paths by committing to achieve a better way of life. Ultimately, believing in your abilities and laying a foundation for sustained action can propel you through times of change. So what are the stages of change?

Stage one

The first stage begins with the spark. It is getting a glimpse of the person you want to be; become open to new goals, and set your sites on future accomplishments.  This vision allows you to tap into your ability to change yourself and the world at large. A sure sign of this spark is the sudden realization that you can do it – whatever ‘it’ is to you. The spark occurs in the moment you are filled with an overwhelmingly positive feeling that you are able and worthy.

Stage two

The next stage is to evaluate the possibilities of making your vision a reality. This is where an action plan comes into play. What steps will you need to take? How much will it cost in terms of finances and personal sacrifice? When evaluating these items it’s important to not become overwhelmed or discouraged. A key to commitment is breaking down big tasks into manageable size tasks. And as the popular adage says, “Keep your eye on the prize.”

Stage three

This leads to stage three which involves making a difference in the life of someone else. When you envision the long-term benefit to yourself and your loved ones, you will no longer think of your work as sacrifice, but a strong commitment to family. One of the strongest motivating factors in achieving personal empowerment comes through the motivational act of realizing how the changes you make also contribute to the success of your family, environment, or community.

Stage four

The fourth phase involves action. It encompasses taking the physical steps necessary to turn dreams into a new reality. The action stage forces you to break out of your comfort zone, and as a result, empowers change. It is great to talk and dream about change, but until action is taken no true empowerment occurs.

Stage five

Stage five requires sustaining your empowered feelings and actions by reaching out for support. Self-empowerment is not achieved in a vacuum. It is necessary to train oneself to be instinctive about motivational behavior. That is why star athletes have coaches, and children have parents to give guidance, set goals, monitor successes, and cheer them on. This valuable support system is the foundation on which you can stands.

The five stages of self-empowerment are simple and accessible to every person, whether you live in Australia, New Zealand, the US or elsewhere in the world. If you are interested in embarking on such a journey, all it takes is a realization that you have the skills and ability to lead an empowered life, make positive changes, and reach for new heights.

Edmond Otis is a motivator, communicator, and coach. He draws on his career and life skills to come up with memorable conversation topics that speak to a variety of people throughout Australia, New Zealand and the US. If you like his theory on Empowering Change, consider Edmond for your next speaking event or purposeful group gathering.

Please follow and like us: